Photographic Therapy

Okay so life has gotten a bit overwhelming and this post might seem somewhat scatterbrained because I can’t quite figure out what to write about. I have several topics in mind but I’ll start with a little bit of mental health – the other topics will just have to wait until another post.

A few weeks ago, my boyfriend and I broke up in a hell of a way — lots of drama. Here’s the thing about me when bad stuff happens, I slide along a scale or different levels of depression.

0. Get pissed, maybe cry once, back onto normal life.
1. Still smiles, still laughs, goes out like nothing is wrong, all while feeling the exact opposite of what I’m showing
2. Cries a whole lot, eats junk food, watches cheesy movies, constantly talks to everyone.
3. Hides in the bedroom, under the covers, cries, doesn’t eat, doesn’t talk to anyone, internalizes every thing
4. No longer enjoys anything at all in the entire world, wants nothing but to sleep and never emerge from the house again.

Bad break-ups, when coupled with health issues I’m having at the time, usually leave me around a 3 or 4. This time, even though I was heartbroken, I was determined not to let it get to that point again. As part of that attempt, I picked my camera back up – something I hadn’t done in I don’t know how long – and started taking self-portraits. My goal? Remember, and photograph creatively, those things that make me happy in life and make me…well…me! I only did it for a week before I had family visit and totally forgot about it but that week made me feel so much better. Not only did it get my mind off of the misery I was feeling, but it made me remember what makes me happy. Sometimes they were silly, sometimes thoughtful…but they were always just me.

I wish I could put the pictures in from my iPad but unfortunately I can’t so I’ll edit the post later from my computer and add some of them. I had so much fun doing these pictures that I plan on doing them for a whole month – hopefully the end product will be a photograph for everyday. And every time I look at them, all the memories that are part of me will come back. And I’ll smile.

I recommend everyone do a project like this, I really do. Even if it’s just with your camera phone – it really does get your mind off everything bad that’s happening. The girl in the photographs has no worries – she is confident, silly, beautiful, funny, and a million other things. She is not heartbroken and not sick. This project will remind you of the small moments that make life fun and it boosts your self-confidence (really, who doesn’t need that extra boost once in a while?).

If you do try it, please let me know! Message me, email me, comment, whatever. I’d love to sell all of your beautiful faces 🙂

Edit: Here are a few of the photos I took, I hope you enjoy!

Parisian Style

Just because I have to wear a hat doesn't mean it can't be stylish

Just me

Just little old me, plain and simple

Sillyness!

Gotta have my spa days!

Published in: on February 29, 2012 at 11:52 am  Comments (1)  
Tags: , , , , , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://alupielife.wordpress.com/2012/02/29/photographic-therapy/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

One CommentLeave a comment

  1. Realtionship drama sucks regardless if you are health or sick. My weeks have been rough also, but it will be fine…staying busy helps stop the heart from bleeding


Leave a Reply

