Gluten Free Living

So my family and I decided I’d try going gluten-free after having so many stomach issues over the last few months. What I’ve learned so far? 1) It’s really hard when your favorite foods are cake, cookies, and bread. 2) It’s really hard to gain weight on a gluten free diet. 3) After a week or two of no gluten, any at all makes me horribly sick.

It’s not all bad though, I’m definitely learning how to manage my meals. Gluten-free food is expensive so I’m learning to use recipes that don’t require a whole of extra things like gluten free flour, noodles, stuff like that. I have to say it’s much easier thanks to two of my dad’s colleagues. They were amazing and made me this giant gluten-free binder shown below. It has tons of recipes and substitutions. It also has a list of brands and what they make that’s gluten-free. The sub list and brand list have come in especially helpful already and I can’t wait to try the recipes! Thank you so much Shannon Gaffey andĀ Eileen Nunamacher! I appreciate your time and effort in helping me with this rather dramatic change in lifestyle and it means a lot to know there are people like you out there willing to help! I will post later this week the scrumptious recipes I made (most took just a few minutes) all week. Right now, I’m off to prepare for court, wish me luck!

Gluten-Free Recipes!

And a stack of GF recipes!

A huge list of substitutions and brand names

A huge list of substitutions and brand name

Published in: on January 29, 2012 at 3:59 pm  Comments (2)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://alupielife.wordpress.com/2012/01/29/gluten-free-living/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

2 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. This is crazy! I have been watching Elisabeth Hasselbeck (from the tv show the View) discussing her battle with Celiac’s Disease and how she lives a Gluten free life. I have been dealing with weight gain and stomach issues and I’m thinking its all my medication, but it is very difficult so I have been thinking about trying this Gluten Free diet. I mean it is difficult to just change your lifestyle, but I am willing to start trying small changes. I think it is great you are doing this and that your family is helping you out! Good Luck.

  2. Thanks! Yea I definitely thought all of mine were from all of the medication but after switching my diet, I’m starting to realize that it wasn’t just that. It’s definitely helped a whole lot. Small changes are always the first step! Good luck and feel free to email me if you want any recipes or have any questions! I’ll do my best to answer.


Leave a Reply

