Set-backs

As everyone knows, in life we experience set-backs. Today happened to be a day I experienced several. Turning to, of course, my family I got some great advice that in reality is very simple but sometimes you just need to hear other people say it.

Everything went wrong today, or it felt like it did. I woke up fighting with the insurance people, had my interview cancelled, and then got some not so great health news. I came home in tears, my boyfriend tried to cheer me up and let me cry. Then I talked to my mom, she said cry it all out, take a deep breath, and remember it’s okay. I know that doesn’t seem like intricate advice but it was really helpful for me and I really needed to hear that it was okay.

I am an overachiever. I always have been and always will be. Sometimes, I forget (or I intentionally disregard) the fact that I am actually sick. It’s hard to understand that sometimes, lupus will stop me from doing the same exact things as everyone else and really, I’ve come extremely far for anyone, even compared to a lot of healthy people. I had an interview that got cancelled – my dad told me to remember they saw something in me originally that made them want to interview me even though I didn’t necessarily have to top GPA. I hadn’t thought of it like that, I just thought “Everyone else is better then me and now I feel like crap about myself.” Sometimes you really just need to hear, or tell a friend, that it’s okay that you’re not perfect. It’s okay that you didn’t get the job or the interview. It’s okay that your best is not necessarily as good in the ways other people’s are. They aren’t dealing with this issue, I am and I’ve done really well for myself.

From Left to Right: Dad, Sister, Me, Mom (Brother is missing)

We all have set-backs in our lives,  minor and major. The important thing to remember is we are dealing with something other people aren’t. We must find a way and work harder than others to get where we want to be. As long as we remember how far we’ve come in our lives, those set-backs won’t be anything more than dust in the wind.

Published in: on September 13, 2011 at 9:37 pm  Comments (6)  
Tags: , , , , , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://alupielife.wordpress.com/2011/09/13/set-backs/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

6 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. There is no denying that you inspire me to be better. To be a better person, a better teacher, a better coach, and, above all, a better father and husband. Life is full of set-backs… but is also full of surprises. Together we laugh a little, we cry a little, we reflect, but at the end of the day, we get up, and we stand up together to fight another day! So proud of you!

    Love you,
    Dad

    • I love you too!

  2. I think that lupus will never prohibit you in doing what you think. You can also still do what you want. Be confidence, keep survive and convince that you can do the best thing like people do.

    • Thank you for your encouragement! Words like that always help me when I’m down.

  3. Hello, very nice post! I certainly like this website, keep on it!

    Best regards Alex


Leave a Reply

